Do we EVER get it right?

Gentlemen need not worry…Ladies..this is all too familiar for you.  How many times do you ask yourself…

 “What shall I pack for this trip?”  Probably that little sentence jumps to mind every time you get ready to take a trip, right?  Even the smallest little junket requires some wardrobe thoughts.  Some could be more difficult like combining tropic sports with gala banquets…or a warm weather/cool weather destination…even the static business trip demands wardrobe considerations.

So, when one plans to explore an entirely new part of the world…we first ask people that have been there…”What kind of clothing is appropriate?”  Then our next step is to head to the internet to “Google” the destination and see what folks “look like” in pictures…and of course the next most important step is to find out what the WEATHER is going to be.

Now I have not stopped to count the multitude of weather sites on the internet….but invariably no matter how many sites you visit to check out the weather for the upcoming trip, each site will give a different weather “prediction”.  Possibly it will show a string of “warm days” followed, of course, a string of “chilly days”.  Therefore, it is simply a matter of counting out the days until the trip with this formula of warm and chilly days to figure out what the temps will be when you arrive at the destination.  Right?  Really?  If it were only that simple!

I have bounced between 3 or 4 relatively “reliable” weather sites, have asked the “locals” what to expect…and I am still in a tizzy as to what to pack!  Why is this so difficult?

It would probably be equally effective to just throw darts at a clothing chart. Or blindly grab anything and everything in the closet and toss it in the bag.

Travel is my profession and I still don’t get it right!  Therefore, once again, my suitcase will be stuffed with those “just in case” items that will probably never see the light of day and I will manage just fine with a few choice basics……

….wishing once again that I had not brought all this junk along!

3 thoughts on “Do we EVER get it right?

  1. I’m sure enjoying your blog – and certainly can relate to your most recent post related to “what to pack” as I consider how to narr

    • Hey Mel – was thinking about the trip to Hawaii and wondering how you were coming with your packing. It seems that no matter what we do….there is always that final thought that “I just didn’t pack the right clothes at all!”

      • I see may first post didn’t quite make it over in one piece but wanted to share my full understanding of the packing question….mixing biz with pleasure only adds to the weight I’m afraid…not to mention my traveling companion just informed me that she routinely “over packs”… oh boy we are in trouble!!

Leave a Reply

